Light to Dark

This morning (ok afternoon) I made my favorite breakfast of poached eggs, toast and sliced pink grapefruit. This is a meal that always feels robust and nurturing. There are food groups. The day can be started correctly. So even though this was a somewhat lazy day, it still felt like a substantial day.

I felt so inspired by my breakfast in fact, that I decided to go for a swim. Now, my dear three readers, contrary to popular belief, writing a blog about ones art and being an adjunct at a state university doesn’t actually pay all that well. So instead of swimming in the indoor pool in my mansion, I downloaded a free 2 week pass to a place called Aquahab and Aquatic Fitness Center. While there I swam some laps in the Olympic sized pool (heated to 85 thanks very much), and then soaked in the gigantic whirlpool for a while. I showered and dried myself off in the sauna listening to middle aged ladies discuss their compulsions for chocolate, gambling and booze. I felt right at home.

When I got back to my house, I decided to bake my world famous rosemary-olive oil-balsamic-salt-pepper chicken legs. However, about 5 minutes after I put the chicken in the oven, all the lights on my block went out. My stove is gas, but the pilots are electric. I couldn’t figure a way to light my stove, so instead of baked chicken, I had non-battered fried chicken. It was difficult to figure out when the chicken was done since I had all of 5 candles to light the entire dining room and kitchen. But it made for a nice picture.

Yours Truly

Naima

~ by naimalowe on February 4, 2010.

Leave a comment